MASNAÂ 05

The MASNAÂ festival, an international event in Casablanca centered on contemporary creation, is inviting the Lebanese author, artist and musician Mazen Kerbaj as the associate artistic director of its 5th annual gathering, focused around comics and artistic scene of Beirut.

 

With their many intersections between literature, drawing, graphic design or visual arts, comics are today a hybrid language with many possibilities for experimentation, within the space of the book or outside of it, in media as diverse as exhibition, performance, video, internet, installation or street art. The Arab comic has seen a similar evolution, with the appearance in the past decade, first in Lebanon and in Egypt, then in the rest of the Middle East and the Maghreb, of new generations of authors, sometimes also designers, musicians or visual artists who have transformed this art, made it one of the favored vectors of expression in broader cultural movements.

 

Mazen Kerbaj is one of these artists. Author of more than 15 books, notably published in France by L’Association and of short stories and drawings published in anthologies, newspapers and magazines, Kerbaj is a pioneer of experimental comics in the Middle East and his work has been translated into ten languages. His paintings, drawings, videos, performances and installations have been displayed in many exhibits in Lebanon, Europe and the United States. He is, moreover, one of the originators and principal actors in Beirut’s experimental music scene where, and more generally, in the alternative Lebanese scene born in the 2000’s.

 

MASNAÂ 05 invites a part of this scene: Lebanese, American, German, Swiss artists and musicians, and Moroccan and French ones related to the Casablanca scene, working on comics and visual arts, music and performance.

 

The program will propose 6 exhibitions mixing comics, design, cinema or music. Different performances and concerts; talks, panels and lectures; a publishing project especially designed for the festival.

 

With the support of the US Embassy in Morocco, the Service de Coopération Culturelle de l’Ambassade de France et de l’Institut français du Maroc, of Pro Helvetia, Fondation suisse pour la Culture, the Goethe-Institut Marokko and the Institut français du Liban.

 

 

Exhibitions:

The Life and Work of Walter Ego - Mazen Kerbaj / Hatem Imam (Lebanon) – Fondation du Musée Slaoui (Casablanca) – Opening May 9, 2017

Fawda – Hicham Lasri (Morocco) - Institut français de Casablanca – Opening May 10, 2017

Jana Traboulsi (Lebanon) / Ganzeer (Egypt) – CulturesInterface (Casablanca) – Opening May 11, 2017.

Zineb Benjelloun (Morocco) / Alex Baladi (Switzerland) – Thinkart (Casablanca) – Opening May 13, 2017.

Hors d’œuvre - Yassine Balbzioui (Morocco) – Casablanca – May 13, 2017.

Ce-Ceci-Cela - Meryem El Haïk (Morocco) – Le Cube (Rabat) – May 14, 2017.

 

Publishing:

Hicham Lasri, Fawda (Kulte editions).

 

Concerts / Performances:

Does my pig lay eggs in the forest? – Simohammed Fettaka / Abdellah Hassak (Morocco) - Institut français de Casablanca – May 10, 2017.

Macadam Animal – Olivia Rosenthal / Eryck Abecassis (France) - Institut français de Casablanca – May 10, 2017.

Wormholes – Mazen Kerbaj / Sharif Sehnaoui (Lebanon) - Institut français de Casablanca – May 10, 2017.

The « A » Trio – Raed Yassin / Mazen Kerbaj / Sharif Sehnaoui (Lebanon) + Alan Bishop (USA) - Institut français de Casablanca – May 12, 2017.

Light Bulb Music – Michael Vorfeld (Germany) - Institut français de Casablanca – May 12, 2017.

Shadow Boxing – Living cinema – Pierre Hébert (Canada) / Bob Ostertag (USA) - Institut français de Casablanca – May 12, 2017.

Hors d’œuvre – Yassine Balbzioui (Morocco) – Casablanca – May 13, 2017.

B. Alvarius - Alan Bishop (USA) – Vertigo (Casablanca) – May 13, 2017.

PRAED – Paed Conca (Switzerland) / Raed Yassin (Lebanon) - Vertigo (Casablanca) – May 13, 2017.

Seven is heaven - Myriem El Haïk (Morocco) - Le Cube (Rabat) – May 14, 2017.

 

Talks / Panels:

Mazen Kerbaj / Hicham Lasri – Goethe-Institut (Rabat) – May 8, 2017.

Ganzeer – Dar America (Casablanca) – May 10, 2017.

Bob Ostertag – Dar America (Casablanca) – May 11, 2017.

Sharif Sehnaoui / Mazen Kerbaj - Institut français de Casablanca – May 12, 2017.

Alex Baladi, Zineb Benjelloun, Mazen Kerbaj, Jana Traboulsi - Institut français de Casablanca – May 13, 2017.

Alan Bishop - Dar America (Casablanca) – May 13, 2017.

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED ©. L'ECOLE DE LITTÉRATURE 2014 - 2016

LE BLOG

 

MASNAÂ 05

Le festival MASNAÂ, manifestation internationale consacrée à la création contemporaine, invite pour sa 5° édition l’artiste libanais Mazen Kerbaj et conçoit avec lui une programmation autour de la bande dessinée et de la scène musicale et artistique de Beyrouth.

 

Aux intersections multiples entre littérature, dessin, graphisme, musique ou arts visuels, la bande dessinée est aujourd’hui cet art hybride qui s’expérimente aussi bien dans l’espace du livre qu’hors de lui, dans des médiums aussi divers que l’exposition, la performance, la vidéo, internet, l’installation ou la fresque murale. La bande dessinée arabe a connu une évolution similaire, avec l’apparition depuis une dizaine d’années, d’abord au Liban et en Égypte, puis dans le reste du Moyen-Orient et au Maghreb, de nouvelles générations d’auteurs, souvent par ailleurs graphistes, plasticiens, qui ont transformé cet art et en ont fait un des vecteurs d’expression privilégiés de mouvements culturels alternatifs plus larges.

Mazen Kerbaj est un de ces artistes. Auteur de plus de 15 livres, publiés notamment en France à L’Association et de nouvelles et dessins publiés dans des anthologies, des journaux et des magazines, Kerbaj est un des inspirateurs de la BD expérimentale au Moyen Orient et son travail a été traduit dans une dizaine de langues. Ses peintures, dessins, vidéos, performances et installations ont été montrés dans de nombreuses expositions au Liban, en Europe et aux Etats-Unis. Il est aussi un des principaux acteurs de la scène musicale expérimentale à Beyrouth, et plus généralement une des figures incontournables d’une scène libanaise alternative apparue dans les années 2000.

La 5° édition de MASNAÂ invite une partie de cette scène : artistes, musiciens, auteurs, libanais, américains, suisses, allemands, ainsi que des artistes marocains et français liés à la scène artistique de Casablanca qui travaillent dans les champs de la bande dessinée et des arts visuels, de la performance et de la musique.

 

Le programme propose 6 expositions qui articulent ou superposent bande dessinée, graphisme, cinéma ou musique. Plusieurs concerts et performances ; des rencontres, des tables rondes et des conférences, ainsi qu’un projet éditorial conçu spécialement pour le festival.

 

 

Avec le soutien de L’Ambassade américaine au Maroc, du Service de Coopération Culturelle de l’Ambassade de France et de l’Institut français du Maroc, de Pro Helvetia, Fondation suisse pour la Culture, du Goethe-Institut Marokko, L’Ambassade du Canada au Maroc et de l’Institut français du Liban.

 

 

 

Expositions :

The Life and Work of Walter Ego - Mazen Kerbaj / Hatem Imam (Liban) – Fondation du Musée Slaoui (Casablanca) – Vernissage 9 mai 2017

Fawda – Hicham Lasri (Maroc) - Institut français de Casablanca – Vernissage 10 mai 2017

Jana Traboulsi (Liban) / Ganzeer (Égypte) – CulturesInterface (Casablanca) – Vernissage 11 mai 2017.

Zineb Benjelloun (Maroc) / Alex Baladi (Suisse) – Thinkart (Casablanca) – Vernissage 13 mai 2017.

Hors d’œuvre - Yassine Balbzioui (Maroc) – Casablanca – 13 mai 2017.

Ce-Ceci-Cela - Meryem El Haïk (Maroc) – Le Cube (Rabat) – 14 mai 2017.

 

Édition :

Hicham Lasri, Fawda (Kulte éditions).

 

Concerts / Performances :

Does my pig lay eggs in the forest? – Simohammed Fettaka / Abdellah Hassak (Maroc) - Institut français de Casablanca – 10 mai 2017

Macadam Animal – Olivia Rosenthal / Eryck Abecassis (France) - Institut français de Casablanca – 10 mai 2017

Wormholes – Mazen Kerbaj / Sharif Sehnaoui (Liban) - Institut français de Casablanca – 10 mai 2017

The « A » Trio – Raed Yassin / Mazen Kerbaj / Sharif Sehnaoui (Liban) + Alan Bishop (États-Unis) - Institut français de Casablanca – 12 mai 2017

Light Bulb Music – Michael Vorfeld (Allemagne) - Institut français de Casablanca – 12 mai 2017

Shadow Boxing – Living cinema – Pierre Hébert (Canada) / Bob Ostertag (Etats-Unis) - Institut français de Casablanca – 12 mai 2017

Hors d’œuvre – Yassine Balbzioui (Maroc) – Casablanca – 13 mai 2017.

B. Alvarius - Alan Bishop (États-Unis) – Vertigo (Casablanca) – 13 mai 2017

PRAED – Paed Conca (Suisse) / Raed Yassin (Liban) - Vertigo (Casablanca) – 13 mai 2017

Seven is heaven - Myriem El Haïk- Le Cube (Rabat) – 14 mai 2017.

 

Rencontres / Conférences / Table ronde :

Mazen Kerbaj / Hicham Lasri – Goethe Institut (Rabat) – 8 mai 2017.

Ganzeer – Dar America (Casablanca) – 10 mai 2017.

Bob Ostertag – Dar America (Casablanca) – 11 mai 2017.

Sharif Sehnaoui / Mazen Kerbaj - Institut français de Casablanca – 12 mai 2017

Alex Baladi, Zineb Benjelloun, Mazen Kerbaj, Jana Traboulsi -

Institut français de Casablanca – 13 mai 2017

Alan Bishop - Dar America (Casablanca) – 13 mai 2017.

  Télécharger le programme MASNAÂ #05

TOUS DROITS RESERVÉS ©. L'ECOLE DE LITTÉRATURE 2014 - 2016