BLOG

The école de littérature is a non-profit association run by writers, scholars, artists, and others involved in the intellectual and cultural community in Morocco, France and around the globe. This project was born from an acknowledgment that in France literature is the sole artistic discipline that does not benefit from a pedagogical apparatus of its own making, lead by those who participate in its creation and evolution.

 

The école began in 2008 with the organization of gatherings intended to research literary arts pedagogy in France, Europe and in the United States.  In September 2010, approximately 20 people involved in literary matters met together in Lagrasse in the south of France to determine the foundations of this project.

 

The école de littérature has three objectives:

•  To create a structure which will allow first of all, writers to pass on their thought and their art over time, not only to teach other writers, but students in all disciplines: artists, or those engaged in any kind of of process of creation or research.  The principle behind this is that literary thought has an essential role to play in the formation of intelligence and creativity in general.

•  To work together to articulate creation, research and transmission.  The proposed programs are situated within a process of reflection and production that brings together poets, theoreticians, writers, critics, editors, artists, &c.  In particular, the process involves thinking current literary mutations collectively, in all of their components, beyond national, disciplinary, and temporal restrictions.  It seeks to offer a critical space for discussion and confrontation in contemporary aesthetics, and to participate in the perpetual reconfiguration of forms, borders and contexts of literature.

•  To be an autonomous apparatus.  Such liberty is the condition of invention.  The objective of the école is to experiment with alternative operational modes besides those set by the market or by institutions, and to widen literature's possibilities.  This may take very diverse forms, and include many different kinds of participation in many fields: aesthetic, educational, theoretical, social, political &c. The école de littérature's project is to be constantly re-interrogated and renewed by its participants.

 

EVENTS

 

EDUCATIONAL HAPPENING (HAPPENING PÉDAGOGIQUE) / May 15-17 2009

Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse

In France, literature is the only artistic discipline, unlike the fine arts, music, dance, theater or film, that does not benefit from a proper educational structure, welcoming into its midst living producers and actors. At the Toulose Théâtre Garonne, writers, artists, essayists, educators are going imagine and implement what could be a School of Literature (Ecole de littérature). This proposition devised as an “Educational Happening” will appear in multiple forms ranging from debate to performance and open to public participation.

With: Boris Charmatz (choreographer), François Cusset (researcher/writer), Christophe Fiat (writer), Zahia Rahmani (writer), David Ruffel (researcher/publisher), Lionel Ruffel (researcher/publisher), Samy Tchak (writer), Camille de Toledo (writer).

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

FOR A SCHOOL OF LITERATURE (POUR UNE ÉCOLE DE LITTÉRATURE) / September 29-October 4, 2010

Abbaye de Lagrasse, France.

Dear Friends,

For some time we have thought over the idea for a School of Literature (Ecole de littérature). We have shared numerous discussions with certain among you on the subject and ultimately this time has turned out to be a time of prefiguration for the School. This time has been taken. A voluntarily long time, for us this prefiguration has played an important part in the identity of this project. Prior to this call for participation, we set out from an obvious fact that has gradually established itself through the movement of our exchanges, availabilities and wishes: literature is an art without a school. And it seems bound to remain that way. We therefore feel even more free make it. Let’s make the school. Let’s be a moment together. In Lagrasse, for 5 days and free from all constraints, about thirty actors from the literary, intellectual and artistic community in France and abroad will gather. It will be a debate of various situations in literature today, to collect and to intersect knowledge, imaginations and theories as part of a prefiguration. The prefiguration of a school that will solely exist through literature.

With Bernard Hoeppfner (translator), Camille de Toledo (writer), Céline Minard (writer), Christophe Fiat (writer), David Ruffel (researcher/publisher), Eleni Sikelianos (writer), François Cusset (researcher/writer), Hassan Darsi (artist), Hugues Jallon (writer/publisher),  Laird Hunt (writer), Leyla Dakhli (essayist), Lionel Ruffel (researcher/publisher), Marielle Macé (essayist), Nimrod (writer), Nicolas Chesnais (filmmaker), Omar Berrada (translator/writer), Pascale Casanova (essayist), Philippe Forest (writer), Sarah Riggs (writer), Tiphaine Samoyault (writer), Xavier Person (writer), Zahia Rahmani (writer).

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

THE SUMMER SCHOOL / September 3-10, 2011

Abbaye de Lagrasse, France.

The story isn’t over, it starts over even more beautiful, outside of this Europe destined to endlessly replay, tragic farce, the stench of the 1930s and the business plan of the 1980s. The story’s not over, it’s train is stopped for one minute in the middle of nowhere, we are the opportunity and hopping on, five of us, twenty-five, five-hundred, all in “Literature” class, a worn out car where you’ll come across anything and everything, where all forms and all stories are possible, like third class in migrant cruise ships at the dawn of modernity. The unemployed school, counter-employed, in order to experience equality. Literature without embellishment, to go over there and see if the we is there, and to relearn to read together, to read in opposition. A place and a moment, to recharge concepts, cobble together new texts and the other way around, listening to friendly voices and drinking in the evening along the old parapets. Context, text, pretext, and what we will make from it.

With Abdallah Zrika (Morocco), Bernard Hoeppfner (France), Camille de Toledo (France), Cloé Korman (France), David Ruffel (France), François Cusset (France), Gisèle Sapiro (France), Hugues Jallon (France), Laurent Jeanpierre (France), Kenza Sefrioui (France), Laurent Mauvignier (France), Lionel Ruffel (France), Pavel Hak (France), Sami Tchak (France), Tiphaine Samoyault (France), Touria Hadraoui (Morocco), Vincent Message (France), Xavier Person (France).

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

INSIDE/OUTSIDE: Contemporary literary practices and productions / January-May 2012

L’Atelier de la Source du Lion, 113 avenue Mers Sultan, Casablanca.

INSIDE/OUTSIDE is a literature seminar that is interested in the current forms and conditions of literary production in different contexts and on different levels. Each session welcomes one or several guests: writers, researchers, artists, literary actors in the broad sense working in Morocco or abroad whose practices are situated just as much on the interior as on the exterior of literature by drawing the issues into question and by liberation from customs.

Guest speakers: David Ruffel “For a contextual literature” / François Beaune, “True stories of Mediterranean” / Omar Berrada “Translate, he says” / Tiphaine Samoyault “Translate world” / Olivia Rosenthal “Listen to write”.

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

TRANSLATIONS / July 7-14 2012

Abbaye de Lagrasse, France.

Translations is a residency in translation that brought together writers, translators and students from France, Morocco, the United States, Egypt, Palestine, Jordan, etc. The workshops were in three languages: French, English, Arabic. The students took translation workshops focused on essential texts from contemporary Arabic, French and U.S. literature not yet translated in one or both of the two other languages. In parallel, French, American and Moroccan writers worked together toward the translation of some of their own texts.

Participants: Latifa Baqa (Morocco), Omar Berrada (Morocco/France), Jocelyn Bonnerave (France), Siham Bouhlal (Morocco), Robyn Creswell (United States), Anissa Derrazi (Morocco), Mohamed Elkhadiri (Morocco), Mohamed Hmoudane (Morocco/France), Bernard Hoepffner (France), Hugues Jallon (France), Laird Hunt (United States), Sarah Riggs (United States/France), Lily Robert-Foley (France), David Ruffel (France), Lionel Ruffel (France), Kenza Sefrioui (Morocco), Eleni Sikelianos (United States), Camille de Toledo (France), Hamid Zaid (Morocco), Abdallah Zrika (Morocco).

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

 

MASNAÂ # 1 - Littérature in the making / 29 avril – 5 mai 2013

Casablanca

MASNAÂ. Factory. Site of fabrication, transformation, production. The école de littérature proposes a week of workshops, conferences, exhibits and performances in Casablanca, within the sphere of literary creation. The program concerns processes of fabrication, the most contemporary and diverse literary forms, those emerging right now in France, Morocco, the United States, across the Arab world and in Spain. The event will take place at a number of sites in Casablanca:  cinemas, cultural centers, artists’ studios and workshops and public spaces.   A rich program of meetings, conferences, shows, performances will be offered to viewers each night.

Participants : Said Afifi (artist, Morocco), Pierre Alferi (writer, artist, France), Zineb Andress Arraki (photographer, architect, Morocco), Kamal Aljafari (filmmaker, Palestine), Zoheir Atbane (artist, Morocco), Kacem Basfao (researcher, Morocco), Mustapha Benfodil (writer, Algeria), Touda Bouanani (artist, Morocco), Ambrose Bye (musician, United States), Hassan Darsi (artist, Morocco), Simohammed Fettaka (artist, Morocco), Laird Hunt (writer, United States), Driss Jaydane (writer, Morocco), Meryem Jazouli (dancer, choreographer, Morocco), Mazen Kerbaj (artist, musician, Lebanon), Amira Géhanne Khalfallah (writer, Morocco), Driss Ksikès (writer, Morocco), Joris Lacoste (stage director, writer, France), Vicente Luis Mora (writer, Spain), Khalid Moukdar (musician, Morocco), Aya Nabih (poet, translator, Egypt), Olivier Peigné (actor, France), Emmanuelle Pireyre (writer, France), Zahia Rahmani (writer, France), Lionel Ruffel (researcher, France), Eleni Sikelianos (writer, poet, Etats-Unis), Karim Troussi (stage director, France), Abdellah Zrika (poet, Maroc).

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

MASNAÂ # 2 - création critique / 25 avril – 3 mai 2014

Casablanca

MASNAÂ. Factory. In its second year, MASNAÂ will explore the process of creation and its critical dimension. Ten days of workshops, lectures, viewings, and performances will be offered, in all disciplines: literature, visual arts, dance, cinema, cultural theory, etc. The program will focus particularly focus on the intersections or short-cuts between creation, criticism and theory and collaborative and participative processes. Participants will question and challenge the status, methods of production and finality of these processes.

With SAID AFIFI (artist, Morocco), MOHAMED AMANSSOUR (writer, Morocco), YOUNÈS ATBANE (artist, Morocco), ZOHEIR ATBANE (artist, Morocco), LATIFA BAQA (writer, Morocco), LAMIA BERRADA (writer, Morocco), FAOUZI BENSAIDI (filmmaker, Morocco/France), AMBROSE BYE (musician, United States), C.A.R (musician, England), FRANÇOIS CUSSET (researcher, essayist, France), HASSAN DARSI (artist, Morocco), MARC DUCRET (musician, France), YOUSSOUF AMINE ELALAMY (writer, Morocco), ALI ESSAFI (filmmaker, Morocco), ISMAEL (filmmaker, Tunisia), NADIR HAJJI (musician, Morocco), GHASSAN EL HAKIM (stage director, Morocco), ZIED MEDDEB HAMROUNI (musician, Tunisia/France), MERYEM JAZOULI (choreographer, Morocco), MAYLIS DE KERANGAL (writer, France), YOUSSEF OUCHRA (artist, Morocco), MOHAMED RACHDI (artist, critic, Morocco), RABIA RAHIANE (writer, Morocco), ZAHIA RAHMANI (writer, France), DAVID RUFFEL (critic, France/Morocco), ALA EDDINE SLIM (filmmaker, Tunisia), CORINNE TROISI (artista, France/Morocco), ANNE WALDMAN (writer, United States).

http://www.lecoledelitterature.org

 

MASNAÂ # 3 - ce qui est là / 17-25 avril 2015

Casablanca

The third edition of MASNAÂ, an international manifestation centered on contemporary creation in Casablanca, is the result of a collaboration between three artistic organizations: École de littérature, La Source du Lion and Espace Darja. This edition takes as its source of inspiration the former Legal Frères & Cie stores and warehouses, situated in the heart of a historic district of the city, turning this abandoned site closed to the public into at once an emblem, a platform of creation, and a place of projection. From January to May 2015, the three organizations will develop a shared program (ce qui est là) around this location, including residencies, workshops, conversations, and performances, and will invite writers, artists, and the public to invest it, design it, dream it and write a new page of its history. The MASNAÂ festival, April 17th-25th, will be the highlight of this program, with exhibitions, workshops, shows, and installations taking place around the Legal factory, in the spaces of Darja and La Source du Lion and at the Institut Français of Casablanca.

With Olivier Cadiot (writer, France), Meryem Jazouli (choreographer, Morocco), Kamel Daoud (writer, Algeria), Pippo Delbono (author/director, Italy), Chloé (DJ/musician, France), Hassan Darsi (artist, Morocco), Katrin Ströbel (artist, Germany), Tony Chakar (architect/writer, Lebanon), Omar Berrada (writer/translator, Morocco), Sarah Riggs (poet/visual artist, United States), Aya Nabih (poet/translator, Egypt), Abdellah Hassak (musician, Morocco), Jérôme Game (writer, France), Mohammed Elkhadiri (writer, Morocco), Christophe Fiat (writer, France), Nicolas Fenouillat (artist, France), Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros (curators, France), Marjolaine Lévy (art historian, France), David Ruffel (researcher/editor, France), Mohamed Tayeb Bayri (artist, Morocco), Aziz Nadif (dancer/singer, Morocco), Bassano Bonelli (actor, France), Ghassan El Hakim (stage director/actor, Maroc), Younes Atbane (artist, Maroc).

http://www.lecoledelitterature.org

 

BROUHAHA — February 18-19, 2016

Paris (La Maison de la Poésie) / Les Lilas (Espace Khiasma)

On the occasion of the release of Lionel Ruffel’s Essay, Brouhaha, les mondes du contemporain (Verdier, 2016), L’école de littérature is organizing two soirées, one at la Maison de la Poésie (Paris) and the other at l’espace Khiasma (Les Lilas) on February 18th and 19th, 2016. “For nearly ten years, I have lead an investigation about what contemporary means, particularly in the field of representations, where the term has created a debate. For ten years, I have observed that artistic practices, forms of knowledge and forms of life have become increasingly indistinct. This indistinctness between inside and outside, between actors and spectators, between knowledge and creation, between individual and collective, between centers and peripheries, is the characteristic of the contemporary which dehierarchizes and horizontalizes relations. The notion of brouhaha translates this characteristic. Is it enough to say it in a book? Certainly not. In Brouhaha, it is a question of books and of literature as they are seen in light of a regime of generalized publication. The Brouhaha soirées will realize this experience by performing the book. And they will do so with those people who have accompanied it over the years: writers, theorists, artists, curators, performers, students.”

With EMMANUELLE PIREYRE & TOOG, MAZEN KERBAJ, JÉRÔME GAME & CHLOÉ, L’ENCYCLOPÉDIE DE LA PAROLE, JORIS LACOSTE, YVES CITTON, OLIVIA ROSENTHAL, ERYCK ABECASSIS, YOUNES ATBANE, ELITZA GUEORGUIEVA, BENOÎT TOQUÉ, LA REVUE TERRAIN VAGUE, LE PEUPLE QUI MANQUE, MÉLANIE YVON, LIONEL RUFFEL AND THE STUDENTS OF THE MASTER CRÉATION LITTÉRAIRE AND OF THE SPEAP.

 

CARAMBOLAGE – March 2-5, 2016

Casablanca (Institut français / Cinéma Ritz)

This first ever gathering of Carambolage, a gathering on the subject of dance initiated by l’Espace Darja, intends to discover through the work of 6 artists, the richness of today’s writings. In partnership with l’école de littérature, for this first year of Carambolage, l’espace Darja invites literature to join forces with Dance and give rise to meetings and collaborations between 3 authors (Claro, Céline Minard, Mathieu Riboulet) and 3 choreographers (Marta Izquierdo Muñoz, Meryem Jazouli, Bernardo Montet). Dance, literature. Two languages of the body, at once autonomous and porous, to create dialogue, to intersect and to contrast. The show El Diptico from the choreographer Marta Izquierdo Muñoz, inspired by Marocan cheikhat and by cinema, will be presented at the Cinéma Ritz for the closing of the gathering’s first year.

Concept: Espace Darja and L’école de littérature

Artistic direction: Meryem Jazouli and David Ruffel

 

MASNAÂ # 4 – May 9-16, 2016

Casablanca.

The MASNAÂ festival in Casablanca invites the Tunisian artist and filmmaker ismaël for its 4th annual gathering. For 7 days the event will bring together contemporary creation from two cities in the Maghreb, Tunis and Casablanca, in visual arts, cinema, electronic music, comics and performance. 40 artists, more than 50 works, 10 issues and more than 20 events in one week : exhibitions, screenings, performances, live concerts, meetings, a workshop and a creative residency + one exhibition at Le Cube in Rabat from May 17.

Exhibitions : Nidhal Chamekh, Malek Gnaoui, Haythem Zakaria, Fakhri El Ghezal, ismaël, Simmohamed Fettaka, Younes Baba-Ali, Said Afifi, Younes Atbane, Youssef Ouchra, Wiame Haddad, Anna Raimondo.

Cinema : Jilani Saadi, Ridha Tlili, Ismaïl Bahri, Hicham Lasri, Simohammed Fettaka, Randa Maaroufi, Nadia Touijer, Youssef Chebbi, Pauline M’barek, Imed Aissaoui, Alaeddin Aboutaleb.

Music : SKNDR (Skander Besbes), DVSN (Tarek Louati), Shinigami San (Zied Meddeb Hamrouni), Deena (Deena Abdelwahed), Waf (Wafa Benromdan), DAOX, Dubosmium (Abdellah M. Hassak), Othman El Kheloufi, Nevché (Frédéric Nevchehirlian).

Comics: Lab619 (Abir Gasmi et Moez Tabia), Hicham Lasri.

Performances : Gustavo Monteiro, Younes Atbane, Alexandre Roccoli, Malika Djardi, Benoist Bouvot, Ghassan El Hakim.

 Artistic direction : ismaël and David Ruffel.

Curator « Masnaâ Saghir » at Le Cube : Jeanne Mercier.

http://www.lecoledelitterature.org

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED ©. L'ECOLE DE LITTÉRATURE 2014 - 2016

LE BLOG

 

L’école de littérature est une association dirigée et animée par des écrivains, des chercheurs, des artistes, des acteurs de la communauté intellectuelle et culturelle, française et étrangère. Son projet est né du constat qu’en France la littérature est la seule discipline artistique qui ne bénéficie pas d’un dispositif pédagogique propre, dirigé par ses acteurs et ses producteurs vivants.

 

Initiée en 2008 par Zahia Rahmani, David Ruffel et Lionel Ruffel, l’école a d’abord mené un ensemble de recherches sur la pédagogie des arts littéraires, en France, en Europe et aux Etats-Unis et organisé des rencontres sur ce thème. En septembre 2010, une vingtaine d’acteurs du monde littéraire et artistique se sont réunis à Lagrasse dans le sud de la France pour définir les bases de ce projet.

 

L’école de littérature a trois objectifs :

• Créer une structure grâce à laquelle des écrivains, en premier lieu, pourront transmettre dans le temps et avec des moyens leur pensée et leur art, non seulement pour former d’autres écrivains mais des étudiants de toutes disciplines, des artistes, des personnes engagées dans un processus de création ou de recherche quel qu’il soit. Le principe est que la pensée littéraire a un rôle essentiel à jouer dans la formation de l’intelligence et de la créativité en général.

• Articuler ensemble création, recherche et transmission. Les formations proposées s’inscriront dans une dynamique de réflexion et de production associant poètes, théoriciens, écrivains, critiques, éditeurs, artistes, etc. Il s’agira notamment de penser collectivement les mutations littéraires actuelles dans l’ensemble de leurs composantes, en dépassant les cadres nationaux, disciplinaires et les temporalités restrictives, de proposer un espace critique, de discussion et de confrontation sur les esthétiques contemporaines, de participer à la reconfiguration permanente des formes, des frontières et des contextes de la littérature.

• Être un dispositif autonome. Cette liberté est la condition de l’invention. L’objectif de l’école est d’expérimenter d’autres modes opérationnels que ceux fixés par le marché ou les institutions et d’élargir les possibilités de la littérature. Elle pourra prendre des formes très diverses et proposer différents types d’interventions dans les champs esthétique, éducatif, théorique, social, politique, etc. Le projet de l’école de littérature sera constamment réinterrogé et renouvelé par ses participants.

 

L’école de littérature s’implante au Maroc en 2011. Elle organise depuis cette date en France et au Maroc des échanges et des collaborations entre écrivains, chercheurs, artistes, étudiants et publics marocains, français, américains et du monde arabe, qui touchent aux domaines de la recherche et de la création littéraires et artistiques.

 

MANIFESTATIONS :

 

15-17 mai 2009 : HAPPENING PÉDAGOGIQUE

Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse

En France, la littérature est la seule discipline artistique, à la différence des arts plastiques, de la musique, de la danse, du théâtre ou du cinéma, qui ne bénéficie pas d’une structure pédagogique propre, accueillant en son sein ses producteurs et acteurs vivants. Au Théâtre Garonne de Toulouse, des écrivains, des artistes, des essayistes, des enseignants vont imaginer et mettre en œuvre ce que pourrait être une Ecole de littérature. Cette proposition élaborée comme un « Happening pédagogique », se déclinera sous différentes formes, allant du débat à la performance et ouvertes à la participation du public.

Avec : Boris Charmatz (chorégraphe), François Cusset (chercheur/écrivain), Christophe Fiat (écrivain), Zahia Rahmani (écrivaine), David Ruffel (chercheur/éditeur), Lionel Ruffel (chercheur/éditeur), Samy Tchak (écrivain), Camille de Toledo (écrivain).

 

29 septembre-4 octobre 2010 : POUR UNE ÉCOLE DE LITTÉRATURE

Abbaye de Lagrasse, France.

Chers amis,

Depuis quelques temps nous réfléchissons à l’idée d’une École de littérature. Nous avons partagé de nombreuses discussions avec certains d’entre vous sur le sujet et finalement ce temps est devenu le temps de préfiguration de l’Ecole. Un temps que l’on a pris. Un temps volontairement long, tant la préfiguration participe pour nous de l’identité de ce projet. En amont de cet appel à participation, nous partons d’une évidence qui s’est imposée au fur et à mesure de nos échanges, de nos disponibilités et de nos envies : la littérature est un art sans école. Et elle se doit de le rester. Nous sommes donc encore plus libres de la faire. Faisons école. Soyons un moment ensemble. A Lagrasse seront rassemblés pendant 5 jours et en dehors de toute contrainte de programmation, une trentaine d’acteurs de la communauté littéraire, intellectuelle et artistique, française et étrangère. Il s’agira de débattre de différentes situations de la littérature aujourd’hui, de collecter et croiser des savoirs, des imaginaires et des théories dans le cadre d’une préfiguration. Celle d’une école qui n’existera que par la littérature.

Avec Bernard Hoeppfner (traducteur), Camille de Toledo (écrivain), Céline Minard (écrivaine), Christophe Fiat (écrivain), David Ruffel (chercheur/éditeur), Eleni Sikelianos (écrivaine), François Cusset (chercheur/écrivain), Hassan Darsi (artiste), Hugues Jallon (écrivain/éditeur),  Laird Hunt (écrivain), Leyla Dakhli (essayiste), Lionel Ruffel (chercheur/éditeur), Marielle Macé (essayiste), Nimrod (écrivain), Nicolas Chesnais (cinéaste), Omar Berrada (traducteur/écrivain), Pascale Casanova (essayiste), Philippe Forest (écrivain),  Sarah Riggs (écrivaine), Tiphaine Samoyault (écrivaine), Xavier Person (écrivain), Zahia Rahmani (écrivaine).

 

3-10 septembre 2011 : LA SUMMER SCHOOL

Abbaye de Lagrasse, France.

L'histoire n'est pas finie, elle recommence même de plus belle, hors de cette Europe vouée à rejouer sans fin, farce tragique, la pestilence des années 1930 et le business plan des années 1980. L'histoire n'est pas finie, son train s'arrête une minute en rase campagne, on en profite pour monter dedans, à cinq, vingt-cinq, cinq-cents, tous en classe "Littérature", un wagon décati où on rencontre de tout, où toutes les formes et toutes les histoires sont possibles, comme la troisième classe des paquebots de migrants à l'aube de la modernité. L'école sans emploi, ou à contre-emploi, pour faire l'expérience de l'égalité. La littérature sans fioritures, pour aller voir là-bas si le nous y est, et pour réapprendre à lire ensemble, et à lire contre. Un lieu et un moment, pour recharger les concepts, bricoler les nouveaux textes et l'inverse, en écoutant des voix amies et en buvant au crépuscule sur de vieux parapets. Contexte, texte, prétexte, et ce que nous en ferons.

Avec Abdallah Zrika (Maroc), Bernard Hoeppfner (France), Camille de Toledo (France), Cloé Korman (France), David Ruffel (France), François Cusset (France), Gisèle Sapiro (France), Hugues Jallon (France), Laurent Jeanpierre (France), Kenza Sefrioui (France), Laurent Mauvignier (France), Lionel Ruffel (France), Pavel Hak (France), Sami Tchak (France), Tiphaine Samoyault (France), Touria Hadraoui (Maroc), Vincent Message (France), Xavier Person (France).

 

Janvier-Mai 2012 : INSIDE/OUTSIDE : pratiques et productions littéraires contemporaines.

L’Atelier de la Source du Lion, 113 avenue Mers Sultan, Casablanca.

INSIDE/OUTSIDE est un séminaire de littérature qui s’intéresse aux formes et aux conditions actuelles de productions littéraires, dans différents contextes et à différentes échelles. Chaque séance accueille un ou plusieurs invités : des écrivains, des chercheurs, des artistes, des acteurs littéraires au sens large, travaillant au Maroc ou à l’étranger, dont les pratiques, se situant aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur de la littérature, en interrogent les enjeux et en libèrent les usages.

Intervenants : David Ruffel, « Pour une littérature contextuelle » / François Beaune, « Histoires vraies de Méditerranée » / Omar Berrada, « Traduire, dit-il » / Tiphaine Samoyault, « Traduire monde » / Olivia Rosenthal, « Ecouter pour écrire ».

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

7-14 juillet 2012 : TRANSLATIONS

Abbaye de Lagrasse, France.

Translations est une résidence de traduction qui a réuni des écrivains, des traducteurs et des étudiants venant de France, du Maroc, des Etats-Unis, d’Egypte, Palestine, Jordanie, etc. Les ateliers étaient en trois langues : français, anglais, arabe. Les étudiants suivaient des ateliers de traduction portant sur des textes essentiels de la littérature contemporaine arabe, française ou états-unienne non encore traduits dans l’une ou l’autre des deux autres langues. Parallèlement des écrivains français, américains et marocains travaillaient ensemble à la traduction de certains de leurs textes.

Participants : Latifa Baqa (Maroc), Omar Berrada (Maroc/France), Jocelyn Bonnerave (France), Siham Bouhlal (Maroc), Robyn Creswell (Etats-Unis), Anissa Derrazi (Maroc), Mohamed Elkhadiri (Maroc), Mohamed Hmoudane (Maroc/France), Bernard Hoepffner (France), Hugues Jallon (France), Laird Hunt (Etats-Unis), Sarah Riggs (Etats-Unis/France), Lily Robert-Foley (France), David Ruffel (France), Lionel Ruffel (France), Kenza Sefrioui (Maroc), Eleni Sikelianos (Etats-Unis), Camille de Toledo (France), Hamid Zaid (Maroc), Abdallah Zrika (Maroc).

http://ecoledelitterature.blogspot.com

 

MASNA  01 - Littérature in the making / 29 avril – 5 mai 2013

Casablanca

MASNAÂ. Usine. Lieu de fabrication, de transformation, de production. L’école de littérature propose à Casablanca une semaine d’ateliers, de conférences, d’expositions et de performances dans le domaine de la création littéraire. Le programme s’intéresse aux processus de fabrication, aux formes les plus contemporaines et les plus diverses de littérature, celles qui se développent actuellement en France, au Maroc, aux Etats-Unis, dans le monde arabe et en Espagne, aux croisements des cultures et des disciplines, des médias et des espaces de diffusion. La manifestation se déroule dans différents lieux du centre de Casablanca : cinéma, studio et atelier d’artistes, galerie, espace public. Un programme de rencontres, de conférences, de spectacles, de performances est proposé au public tous les soirs.

Participants : Said Afifi (artiste, Maroc), Pierre Alferi (écrivain, artiste, France), Zineb Andress Arraki (photographe, architecte, Maroc), Kamal Aljafari (cinéaste, Palestine), Zoheir Atbane (artiste, Maroc), Kacem Basfao (chercheur, Maroc), Mustapha Benfodil (écrivain, Algérie), Touda Bouanani (artiste, Maroc), Ambrose Bye (musicien, Etats-Unis), Hassan Darsi (artiste, Maroc), Simohammed Fettaka (artiste, Maroc), Laird Hunt (écrivain, Etats-Unis), Driss Jaydane (écrivain, Maroc), Meryem Jazouli (danseuse, chorégraphe, Maroc), Mazen Kerbaj (artiste, musicien, Liban), Amira Géhanne Khalfallah (écrivain, Maroc), Driss Ksikès (écrivain, Maroc), Joris Lacoste (metteur en scène, écrivain, France), Vicente Luis Mora (écrivain, Espagne), Khalid Moukdar (musicien, Maroc), Aya Nabih (poète, traductrice, Egypte), Olivier Peigné (comédien, France), Emmanuelle Pireyre (écrivain, France), Zahia Rahmani (écrivain, France), Lionel Ruffel (chercheur, France), Eleni Sikelianos (écrivain, poète, Etats-Unis), Karim Troussi (metteur en scène, France), Abdellah Zrika (poète, Maroc).

 

MASNAÂ 02 - création critique / 25 avril – 3 mai 2014

Casablanca

MASNAÂ. La fabrique. Pour sa deuxième édition, la manifestation MASNAÂ s'intéresse aux processus de création et à leur dimension critique et propose sur ce thème dix jours d'ateliers, de conférences, de projections, de performances, sans limite disciplinaire : littérature, arts plastiques, danse, cinéma, musique, théorie culturelle, etc. Le programme mettra l'accent sur les croisements et les court-circuits entre création, critique et théorie et sur les processus collaboratifs et participatifs, ceux qui remettent en jeu les places, les modes de production établis et leur finalité.

 Avec SAID AFIFI (artiste, Maroc), MOHAMED AMANSSOUR (écrivain, Maroc), YOUNÈS ATBANE (artiste, Maroc), ZOHEIR ATBANE (artiste, Maroc), LATIFA BAQA (écrivain, Maroc), LAMIA BERRADA (écrivaine, Maroc), FAOUZI BENSAIDI (cinéaste, Maroc/France), AMBROSE BYE (musicien, Etats-Unis), C.A.R (musicienne, Angleterre), FRANÇOIS CUSSET (chercheur, essayiste, France), HASSAN DARSI (artiste, Maroc), MARC DUCRET (musicien, France), YOUSSOUF AMINE ELALAMY (écrivain, Maroc), ALI ESSAFI (cinéaste, Maroc), ISMAEL (cinéaste, Tunisie), NADIR HAJJI (musicien, Maroc), GHASSAN EL HAKIM (metteur en scène, Maroc), ZIED MEDDEB HAMROUNI (musicien, Tunisie/France), MERYEM JAZOULI (chorégraphe, Maroc), MAYLIS DE KERANGAL (écrivaine, France), YOUSSEF OUCHRA (artiste, Maroc), MOHAMED RACHDI (artiste, critique, Maroc), RABIA RAHIANE (écrivaine, Maroc), ZAHIA RAHMANI (écrivaine, France), DAVID RUFFEL (critique, France/Maroc), ALA EDDINE SLIM (cinéaste, Tunisie), CORINNE TROISI (artiste, France/Maroc), ANNE WALDMAN (écrivaine, Etats-Unis).

 

MASNAÂ 03 - ce qui est là / 17-25 avril 2015

Casablanca

Pour sa 3° édition, MASNAÂ, manifestation internationale centrée sur la création contemporaine à Casablanca, est le fruit d’une collaboration entre trois structures artistiques, L’école de littérature, La Source du Lion et L’espace Darja. Cette édition prend comme source d’inspiration les anciens entrepôts et magasins Legal Frères & Cie, situés en plein cœur d’un quartier historique de la ville et fait de ce lieu à l’abandon et interdit d’accès, tout à la fois un emblème, une plateforme de création et un espace de projection. De janvier à mai 2015, les trois structures mettent au point un programme commun (ce qui est là) autour de ce lieu : résidences, ateliers, rencontres, performances et invitent des écrivains, des artistes et le public à l’investir, le dessiner, le rêver et écrire une nouvelle page de son histoire. Le festival MASNAÂ du 17 au 25 avril 2015 sera le temps fort de ce programme, avec des expositions, des workshops, des spectacles et des installations, qui se dérouleront autour de l’usine Legal, dans les espaces de Darja et de La Source du Lion et à l’Institut français de Casablanca.

Avec Olivier Cadiot (écrivain, France), Meryem Jazouli (chorégraphe, Maroc), Kamel Daoud (écrivain, Algérie), Pippo Delbono (auteur/metteur en scène, Italie), Chloé (DJ/musicienne, France), Hassan Darsi (artiste, Maroc), Katrin Ströbel (artiste, Allemagne), Tony Chakar (architecte/écrivain, Liban), Omar Berrada (écrivain/traducteur, Maroc), Sarah Riggs (poète/vidéaste, Etats-Unis), Aya Nabih (poète/traductrice, Egypte), Abdellah Hassak (musicien, Maroc), Jérôme Game (écrivain, France), Dagmar Dudinsky (artiste, France), Mohammed Elkhadiri (écrivain, Maroc), Christophe Fiat (écrivain, France), Nicolas Fenouillat (artiste, France), Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros (curateurs, France), Marjolaine Lévy (historienne de l’art, France), David Ruffel (chercheur/éditeur, France), Mohamed Tayeb Bayri (artiste, Maroc), Aziz Nadif (danseur/chanteur, Maroc), Bassano Bonelli (comédienne, France), Ghassan El Hakim (metteur en scène/comédien, Maroc).

 

MASNAÂ 04 – 9-16 mai, 2016

Casablanca.

MASNAÂ, festival international et pluridisciplinaire, invite pour sa 4° édition le cinéaste et artiste tunisien ismaël et met en regard les scènes contemporaines de deux villes du Maghreb, Casablanca et Tunis, dans les domaines des arts visuels, du cinéma, de la musique électronique, de la bande-dessinée et des arts de la scène. 40 artistes, plus de 50 œuvres, 10 lieux et plus de 20 rendez-vous en une semaine : expositions, projections, spectacles, performances, concerts, rencontres, atelier et résidence de création, ainsi qu’une exposition au Cube à Rabat à partir du 17 mai.

Expositions : Nidhal Chamekh, Malek Gnaoui, Haythem Zakaria, Fakhri El Ghezal, ismaël, Wiame Haddad, Simmohamed Fettaka, Younes Baba-Ali, Said Afifi, Younes Atbane, Youssef Ouchra, Anna Raimondo.

Cinéma : Jilani Saadi, Ridha Tlili, Ismaïl Bahri, Hicham Lasri, Simohammed Fettaka, Randa Maaroufi, Nadia Touijer, Youssef Chebbi, Pauline M’barek, Imed Aissaoui, Alaeddin Aboutaleb.

Musique : SKNDR (Skander Besbes), DVSN (Tarek Louati), Shinigami San (Zied Meddeb Hamrouni), Deena (Deena Abdelwahed), Waf (Wafa Benromdan), DAOX, Dubosmium (Abdellah M. Hassak), Othman El Kheloufi, Nevché (Frédéric Nevchehirlian).

BD : Lab619 (Abir Gasmi et Moez Tabia), Hicham Lasri.

Performances : Gustavo Monteiro, Younes Atbane, Alexandre Roccoli, Malika Djardi, Benoist Bouvot, Ghassan El Hakim.

Direction artistique : ismaël et David Ruffel.

Commissaire exposition « Masnaâ Saghir » au Cube : Jeanne Mercier.

 

 

TOUS DROITS RESERVÉS ©. L'ECOLE DE LITTÉRATURE 2014 - 2016