BLOG

MASNAÂ

Since its creation in 2013, the MASNAÂ festival has invited and produced nearly 100 Moroccan, French, Arab, European and American artists and has become, through its four gatherings, a leading event in Morocco.

It is led by two associations, one Moroccan (Association Masnaâ) and the other French (L’école de littérature) and is supported by private cultural institutions and foundations in Morocco, in France and abroad.

It takes place in different partner locations in Casablanca and recently in Rabat (institutes, galleries, cultural centers, concert venues, cinemas, artists’ workshops and places of residence).

 

The Masnaâ festival seeks to:

 

develop an independent, interdisciplinary and international event in Morocco in the matter of  contemporary creation.

promote the Moroccan contemporary arts scene through the production and diffusion of its artists as well the expansion of its audience in Morocco.

contribute to the structuring of Casablanca and Morocco’s cultural landscape through collaboration with different places (institutions, galleries, cultural centers, concert venues, cinemas, artists workshops and places of residence) and by putting them into a network.

encourage the circulation of artists and works in the MENA region by inviting artists from the Arab world to Morocco.

develop a network of artists and independent structures within the Arab world and encouraging their collaboration.

defend the vision of artists themselves, particularly by inviting an Arab artist as the associate artistic director of each annual gathering and by conceiving the programming of a festival as an extension of their work. Associate artistic directors of the 2015 festival: Hassan Darsi (artist, Morocco) and Meryem Jazouli (choreographer/dancer, Morocco). 2016: ismaël (filmmaker/artist, Tunisia). 2017: Mazen Kerbaj (artist, musician, Lebanon).

 

MASNAÂ 01 - Littérature in the making / 29 avril – 5 mai 2013

Casablanca

MASNAÂ. Factory. Site of fabrication, transformation, production. The école de littérature proposes a week of workshops, conferences, exhibits and performances in Casablanca, within the sphere of literary creation. The program concerns processes of fabrication, the most contemporary and diverse literary forms, those emerging right now in France, Morocco, the United States, across the Arab world and in Spain. The event will take place at a number of sites in Casablanca:  cinemas, cultural centers, artists’ studios and workshops and public spaces.   A rich program of meetings, conferences, shows, performances will be offered to viewers each night.

Participants : Said Afifi (artist, Morocco), Pierre Alferi (writer, artist, France), Zineb Andress Arraki (photographer, architect, Morocco), Kamal Aljafari (filmmaker, Palestine), Zoheir Atbane (artist, Morocco), Kacem Basfao (researcher, Morocco), Mustapha Benfodil (writer, Algeria), Touda Bouanani (artist, Morocco), Ambrose Bye (musician, United States), Hassan Darsi (artist, Morocco), Simohammed Fettaka (artist, Morocco), Laird Hunt (writer, United States), Driss Jaydane (writer, Morocco), Meryem Jazouli (dancer, choreographer, Morocco), Mazen Kerbaj (artist, musician, Lebanon), Amira Géhanne Khalfallah (writer, Morocco), Driss Ksikès (writer, Morocco), Joris Lacoste (stage director, writer, France), Vicente Luis Mora (writer, Spain), Khalid Moukdar (musician, Morocco), Aya Nabih (poet, translator, Egypt), Olivier Peigné (actor, France), Emmanuelle Pireyre (writer, France), Zahia Rahmani (writer, France), Lionel Ruffel (researcher, France), Eleni Sikelianos (writer, poet, Etats-Unis), Karim Troussi (stage director, France), Abdellah Zrika (poet, Maroc).

 

MASNAÂ 02 - création critique / 25 avril – 3 mai 2014

Casablanca

MASNAÂ. Factory. In its second year, MASNAÂ will explore the process of creation and its critical dimension. Ten days of workshops, lectures, viewings, and performances will be offered, in all disciplines: literature, visual arts, dance, cinema, cultural theory, etc. The program will focus particularly focus on the intersections or short-cuts between creation, criticism and theory and collaborative and participative processes. Participants will question and challenge the status, methods of production and finality of these processes.

With SAID AFIFI (artist, Morocco), MOHAMED AMANSSOUR (writer, Morocco), YOUNÈS ATBANE (artist, Morocco), ZOHEIR ATBANE (artist, Morocco), LATIFA BAQA (writer, Morocco), LAMIA BERRADA (writer, Morocco), FAOUZI BENSAIDI (filmmaker, Morocco/France), AMBROSE BYE (musician, United States), C.A.R (musician, England), FRANÇOIS CUSSET (researcher, essayist, France), HASSAN DARSI (artist, Morocco), MARC DUCRET (musician, France), YOUSSOUF AMINE ELALAMY (writer, Morocco), ALI ESSAFI (filmmaker, Morocco), ISMAEL (filmmaker, Tunisia), NADIR HAJJI (musician, Morocco), GHASSAN EL HAKIM (stage director, Morocco), ZIED MEDDEB HAMROUNI (musician, Tunisia/France), MERYEM JAZOULI (choreographer, Morocco), MAYLIS DE KERANGAL (writer, France), YOUSSEF OUCHRA (artist, Morocco), MOHAMED RACHDI (artist, critic, Morocco), RABIA RAHIANE (writer, Morocco), ZAHIA RAHMANI (writer, France), DAVID RUFFEL (critic, France/Morocco), ALA EDDINE SLIM (filmmaker, Tunisia), CORINNE TROISI (artista, France/Morocco), ANNE WALDMAN (writer, United States).

 

MASNAÂ 03 - ce qui est là / 17-25 avril 2015

Casablanca

The third edition of MASNAÂ, an international manifestation centered on contemporary creation in Casablanca, is the result of a collaboration between three artistic organizations: École de littérature, La Source du Lion and Espace Darja. This edition takes as its source of inspiration the former Legal Frères & Cie stores and warehouses, situated in the heart of a historic district of the city, turning this abandoned site closed to the public into at once an emblem, a platform of creation, and a place of projection. From January to May 2015, the three organizations will develop a shared program (ce qui est là) around this location, including residencies, workshops, conversations, and performances, and will invite writers, artists, and the public to invest it, design it, dream it and write a new page of its history. The MASNAÂ festival, April 17th-25th, will be the highlight of this program, with exhibitions, workshops, shows, and installations taking place around the Legal factory, in the spaces of Darja and La Source du Lion and at the Institut Français of Casablanca.

With Olivier Cadiot (writer, France), Meryem Jazouli (choreographer, Morocco), Kamel Daoud (writer, Algeria), Pippo Delbono (author/director, Italy), Chloé (DJ/musician, France), Hassan Darsi (artist, Morocco), Katrin Ströbel (artist, Germany), Tony Chakar (architect/writer, Lebanon), Omar Berrada (writer/translator, Morocco), Sarah Riggs (poet/visual artist, United States), Aya Nabih (poet/translator, Egypt), Abdellah Hassak (musician, Morocco), Jérôme Game (writer, France), Mohammed Elkhadiri (writer, Morocco), Christophe Fiat (writer, France), Nicolas Fenouillat (artist, France), Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros (curators, France), Marjolaine Lévy (art historian, France), David Ruffel (researcher/editor, France), Mohamed Tayeb Bayri (artist, Morocco), Aziz Nadif (dancer/singer, Morocco), Bassano Bonelli (actor, France), Ghassan El Hakim (stage director/actor, Maroc), Younes Atbane (artist, Maroc).

 

MASNAÂ 04 – May 9-16, 2016

Casablanca.

The MASNAÂ festival in Casablanca invites the Tunisian artist and filmmaker ismaël for its 4th annual gathering. For 7 days the event will bring together contemporary creation from two cities in the Maghreb, Tunis and Casablanca, in visual arts, cinema, electronic music, comics and performance. 40 artists, more than 50 works, 10 issues and more than 20 events in one week : exhibitions, screenings, performances, live concerts, meetings, a workshop and a creative residency + one exhibition at Le Cube in Rabat from May 17.

Exhibitions : Nidhal Chamekh, Malek Gnaoui, Haythem Zakaria, Fakhri El Ghezal, ismaël, Simmohamed Fettaka, Younes Baba-Ali, Said Afifi, Younes Atbane, Youssef Ouchra, Wiame Haddad, Anna Raimondo.

Cinema : Jilani Saadi, Ridha Tlili, Ismaïl Bahri, Hicham Lasri, Simohammed Fettaka, Randa Maaroufi, Nadia Touijer, Youssef Chebbi, Pauline M’barek, Imed Aissaoui, Alaeddin Aboutaleb.

Music : SKNDR (Skander Besbes), DVSN (Tarek Louati), Shinigami San (Zied Meddeb Hamrouni), Deena (Deena Abdelwahed), Waf (Wafa Benromdan), DAOX, Dubosmium (Abdellah M. Hassak), Othman El Kheloufi, Nevché (Frédéric Nevchehirlian).

Comics: Lab619 (Abir Gasmi et Moez Tabia), Hicham Lasri.

Performances : Gustavo Monteiro, Younes Atbane, Alexandre Roccoli, Malika Djardi, Benoist Bouvot, Ghassan El Hakim.

 Artistic direction : ismaël and David Ruffel.

Curator « Masnaâ Saghir » at Le Cube : Jeanne Mercier.

 

 

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED ©. L'ECOLE DE LITTÉRATURE 2014 - 2016

LE BLOG

 

MASNAÂ

Depuis sa création en 2013, le festival MASNA a invité et produit près de 100 artistes, marocains, français, arabes, européens et américains et est devenu en 4 éditions une manifestation de référence au Maroc.

Il est porté par deux associations, l’une marocaine (Association Masnaâ), l’autre française (L’école de littérature) et est soutenu par des institutions culturelles et des fondations privées au Maroc, en France et à l’étranger.

Il se déroule dans différents lieux partenaires à Casablanca et récemment à Rabat (instituts, galeries, centres culturels, salles de concert, cinémas, ateliers d'artistes et lieux de résidence).

 

Le festival Masnaâ a pour objectifs :

 

- développer au Maroc une manifestation indépendante, interdisciplinaire et internationale sur la création contemporaine.

- promouvoir la scène artistique contemporaine marocaine par la production et la diffusion de ses artistes ainsi que l’élargissement de son public au Maroc.

- contribuer à la structuration du paysage culturel casablancais et marocain par la collaboration avec différents lieux (institutions, galeries, centres culturels, salles de concert, cinémas, ateliers d'artistes et lieux de résidence) et leur mise en réseaux.

- favoriser la circulation des artistes et des œuvres dans la région MENA, en invitant au Maroc des artistes du monde arabe.

- développer un réseau d’artistes et de structures indépendantes au sein du monde arabe et favoriser leur collaboration.

- défendre la vision des artistes eux-mêmes, notamment en invitant comme directeur artistique associé de chaque édition un artiste et en concevant la programmation d’un festival comme un prolongement de leur oeuvre. Directeurs artistiques associés de l’édition 2015 : Hassan Darsi (artiste, Maroc) et Meryem Jazouli (chorégraphe/danseuse, Maroc). Directeur artistique associé de l’édition 2016 : ismaël (cinéaste/artiste, Tunisie).

 

 

 

1° édition : MASNAÂ Littérature in the making / 29 avril – 5 mai 2013

Casablanca

 

MASNAÂ. Usine. Lieu de fabrication, de transformation, de production. L’école de littérature propose à Casablanca une semaine d’ateliers, de conférences, d’expositions et de performances dans le domaine de la création littéraire. Le programme s’intéresse aux processus de fabrication, aux formes les plus contemporaines et les plus diverses de littérature, celles qui se développent actuellement en France, au Maroc, aux Etats-Unis, dans le monde arabe et en Espagne, aux croisements des cultures et des disciplines, des médias et des espaces de diffusion. La manifestation se déroule dans différents lieux du centre de Casablanca : cinéma, studio et atelier d’artistes, galerie, espace public. Un programme de rencontres, de conférences, de spectacles, de performances est proposé au public tous les soirs.

Participants : Said Afifi (artiste, Maroc), Pierre Alferi (écrivain, artiste, France), Zineb Andress Arraki (photographe, architecte, Maroc), Kamal Aljafari (cinéaste, Palestine), Zoheir Atbane (artiste, Maroc), Kacem Basfao (chercheur, Maroc), Mustapha Benfodil (écrivain, Algérie), Touda Bouanani (artiste, Maroc), Ambrose Bye (musicien, Etats-Unis), Hassan Darsi (artiste, Maroc), Simohammed Fettaka (artiste, Maroc), Laird Hunt (écrivain, Etats-Unis), Driss Jaydane (écrivain, Maroc), Meryem Jazouli (danseuse, chorégraphe, Maroc), Mazen Kerbaj (artiste, musicien, Liban), Amira Géhanne Khalfallah (écrivain, Maroc), Driss Ksikès (écrivain, Maroc), Joris Lacoste (metteur en scène, écrivain, France), Vicente Luis Mora (écrivain, Espagne), Khalid Moukdar (musicien, Maroc), Aya Nabih (poète, traductrice, Egypte), Olivier Peigné (comédien, France), Emmanuelle Pireyre (écrivain, France), Zahia Rahmani (écrivain, France), Lionel Ruffel (chercheur, France), Eleni Sikelianos (écrivain, poète, Etats-Unis), Karim Troussi (metteur en scène, France), Abdellah Zrika (poète, Maroc).

 

2° édition : MASNAÂ création critique / 25 avril – 3 mai 2014

Casablanca

 

MASNAÂ. La fabrique. Pour sa deuxième édition, la manifestation MASNAÂ s'intéresse aux processus de création et à leur dimension critique et propose sur ce thème dix jours d'ateliers, de conférences, de projections, de performances, sans limite disciplinaire : littérature, arts plastiques, danse, cinéma, musique, théorie culturelle, etc. Le programme mettra l'accent sur les croisements et les court-circuits entre création, critique et théorie et sur les processus collaboratifs et participatifs, ceux qui remettent en jeu les places, les modes de production établis et leur finalité.

 Avec SAID AFIFI (artiste, Maroc), MOHAMED AMANSSOUR (écrivain, Maroc), YOUNÈS ATBANE (artiste, Maroc), ZOHEIR ATBANE (artiste, Maroc), LATIFA BAQA (écrivain, Maroc), LAMIA BERRADA (écrivaine, Maroc), FAOUZI BENSAIDI (cinéaste, Maroc/France), AMBROSE BYE (musicien, Etats-Unis), C.A.R (musicienne, Angleterre), FRANÇOIS CUSSET (chercheur, essayiste, France), HASSAN DARSI (artiste, Maroc), MARC DUCRET (musicien, France), YOUSSOUF AMINE ELALAMY (écrivain, Maroc), ALI ESSAFI (cinéaste, Maroc), ISMAEL (cinéaste, Tunisie), NADIR HAJJI (musicien, Maroc), GHASSAN EL HAKIM (metteur en scène, Maroc), ZIED MEDDEB HAMROUNI (musicien, Tunisie/France), MERYEM JAZOULI (chorégraphe, Maroc), MAYLIS DE KERANGAL (écrivaine, France), YOUSSEF OUCHRA (artiste, Maroc), MOHAMED RACHDI (artiste, critique, Maroc), RABIA RAHIANE (écrivaine, Maroc), ZAHIA RAHMANI (écrivaine, France), DAVID RUFFEL (critique, France/Maroc), ALA EDDINE SLIM (cinéaste, Tunisie), CORINNE TROISI (artiste, France/Maroc), ANNE WALDMAN (écrivaine, Etats-Unis).

 

 

3° édition : MASNAÂ ce qui est là / 17-25 avril 2015

Casablanca.

 

Pour sa 3° édition, MASNAÂ, manifestation internationale centrée sur la création contemporaine à Casablanca, est le fruit d’une collaboration entre trois structures artistiques, L’école de littérature, La Source du Lion et L’espace Darja. Cette édition prend comme source d’inspiration les anciens entrepôts et magasins Legal Frères & Cie, situés en plein cœur d’un quartier historique de la ville et fait de ce lieu à l’abandon et interdit d’accès, tout à la fois un emblème, une plateforme de création et un espace de projection. De janvier à mai 2015, les trois structures mettent au point un programme commun (ce qui est là) autour de ce lieu : résidences, ateliers, rencontres, performances et invitent des écrivains, des artistes et le public à l’investir, le dessiner, le rêver et écrire une nouvelle page de son histoire. Le festival MASNAÂ du 17 au 25 avril 2015 sera le temps fort de ce programme, avec des expositions, des workshops, des spectacles et des installations, qui se dérouleront autour de l’usine Legal, dans les espaces de Darja et de La Source du Lion et à l’Institut français de Casablanca.

Avec Olivier Cadiot (écrivain, France), Meryem Jazouli (chorégraphe, Maroc), Kamel Daoud (écrivain, Algérie), Pippo Delbono (auteur/metteur en scène, Italie), Chloé (DJ/musicienne, France), Hassan Darsi (artiste, Maroc), Katrin Ströbel (artiste, Allemagne), Tony Chakar (architecte/écrivain, Liban), Omar Berrada (écrivain/traducteur, Maroc), Sarah Riggs (poète/vidéaste, Etats-Unis), Aya Nabih (poète/traductrice, Egypte), Abdellah Hassak (musicien, Maroc), Jérôme Game (écrivain, France), Dagmar Dudinsky (artiste, France), Mohammed Elkhadiri (écrivain, Maroc), Christophe Fiat (écrivain, France), Nicolas Fenouillat (artiste, France), Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros (curateurs, France), Marjolaine Lévy (historienne de l’art, France), David Ruffel (chercheur/éditeur, France), Mohamed Tayeb Bayri (artiste, Maroc), Aziz Nadif (danseur/chanteur, Maroc), Bassano Bonelli (comédienne, France), Ghassan El Hakim (metteur en scène/comédien, Maroc).

 

 

MASNAÂ 04 – 9-16 mai, 2016

Casablanca.

 

MASNAÂ, festival international et pluridisciplinaire, invite pour sa 4° édition le cinéaste et artiste tunisien ismaël et met en regard les scènes contemporaines de deux villes du Maghreb, Casablanca et Tunis, dans les domaines des arts visuels, du cinéma, de la musique électronique, de la bande-dessinée et des arts de la scène. 40 artistes, plus de 50 œuvres, 10 lieux et plus de 20 rendez-vous en une semaine : expositions, projections, spectacles, performances, concerts, rencontres, atelier et résidence de création, ainsi qu’une exposition au Cube à Rabat à partir du 17 mai.

Expositions : Nidhal Chamekh, Malek Gnaoui, Haythem Zakaria, Fakhri El Ghezal, ismaël, Wiame Haddad, Simmohamed Fettaka, Younes Baba-Ali, Said Afifi, Younes Atbane, Youssef Ouchra, Anna Raimondo.

Cinéma : Jilani Saadi, Ridha Tlili, Ismaïl Bahri, Hicham Lasri, Simohammed Fettaka, Randa Maaroufi, Nadia Touijer, Youssef Chebbi, Pauline M’barek, Imed Aissaoui, Alaeddin Aboutaleb.

Musique : SKNDR (Skander Besbes), DVSN (Tarek Louati), Shinigami San (Zied Meddeb Hamrouni), Deena (Deena Abdelwahed), Waf (Wafa Benromdan), DAOX, Dubosmium (Abdellah M. Hassak), Othman El Kheloufi, Nevché (Frédéric Nevchehirlian).

BD : Lab619 (Abir Gasmi et Moez Tabia), Hicham Lasri.

Performances : Gustavo Monteiro, Younes Atbane, Alexandre Roccoli, Malika Djardi, Benoist Bouvot, Ghassan El Hakim.

Direction artistique : ismaël et David Ruffel.

Commissaire exposition « Masnaâ Saghir » au Cube : Jeanne Mercier.

 

 

 

 

TOUS DROITS RESERVÉS ©. L'ECOLE DE LITTÉRATURE 2014 - 2016